Sorry, when I looked at those pages the links to cards that weren't remakes were showing as broken. I'm not sure how come they show as proper links now, but I would have been alright to revert them myself.
It depends on the individual. There are no world changing plot events so similar to the PsyQualia arc or Shinemon Arc, however it functions like a companion story to the G series so some characters won't be expanded upon probably with the expectation that the reader also watches the anime as opposed to the othertwo manga series.
This manga is interesting in that it has a lot of mirror matches and Chrono plays more than just Gear Chronicle.
Meaning that had he continued the fight, there's a possbility he could've won. But with their fight left unconcluded and with Rive having not said anything along the lines of forfeiting, you can't really say he lost that fight.
He didn't take the final damage, showing the fact that asteroid runs away from fights before they can lose, whether he could've gotten a heal or not no one will know. Anyway since Blitzer says it's fine it should be okay then.
This isn't sports, though. This is anime. How the characters react is the most important to the plot. If the characters don't treat it as a loss, it won't feel like a loss in any sense but the most legalist sense.
Pretty sure the anime treats vanguard just like any other sport. If this had a match in the tournament, you can be damn sure they would treat it as a loss. Just making it a casual match doesn’t mean anything. I’ll make sure to try that next time I go to a tournament tho. “Oh yea, don’t count this as a loss for me, im just leaving and not finishing.”
Yeah, Rive leaving the fight is different from a case like Chrono vs. Ryuzu round 2, which was interrupted and they were forced to discontinue. In that case, the fight was externally interrupted and there wasn't a choice but to call it off. Rive 100% had the option of continuing his fight with Shin, and had a very viable and good chance to win. He chose to leave, removing his ability to win. He even admitted Shin's strength before he left and mentioned that he might have lost, not saying anything about him potentially winning. It was a loss for Rive and a win for Shin in every sense and perspective.
Disclaimer- didn't watch it, just working from an admittedly flawed memory.
I think I recall Naoki and Kai just ignore the fight and start talking about Aichi. As Naoki showed zero interest in continuing the fight, I wouldn't call it a loss. Shin wanted to finish his fight with Rive, even though his odds weren't great, and his persistence is a big part of what makes Rive dipping a loss.
If I'm remembering wrong and Naoki wanted to finish the fight, and Kai was like "nah," then yeah, big L for Kai.
Having looked back at the scene, I don't think we're meant to see this as Rive's loss. Rive has been set up as someone whose level Shinemon has yet to reach and it's still too early in the story to have Shinemon win against him, but at the same time, they need to show Shinemon's growth. Thus, the decision of having Rive call the fight off at the end of Shinemon's turn, being satisfied enough with what he's seen that he agrees to join Shinemon's team while still keeping this plot thread to be resolved at a future date (likely in the post-timeskip arc). Shinemon's own reaction to Rive calling off the fight also compounds that we aren't meant to see this as a loss for Rive since he doesn't see it as a victory against the latter.
Also, anyone remembers the relay fight between Try3 and AL4 in GIRS Crisis ? The fighters kept the previous fighter's hand cards in addition to drawing five new cards which isn't how RL Relay Fight works. This sets a precedent for the anime playing fast and loose with some of the rules if they feel it benefits the story.
Yes, that is the case IRL. No one is denying that. However, as said before in this very thread, we're not talking about RL here. And I've already given an exemple of the anime doing things differently than in RL.
Speaking of which, here's a second one, remember how Aichi kept using Barcgal as his starting vanguard in the anime even though the card had been restricted so that it could no longer be used that way ?
A work of fiction isn't bound to reality, that's why it's fiction. If the narrative of the show doesn't treat it as a loss for Rive, then it's not one.
Your two examples aren't really the best either. I believe that Barcgal's restriction occurred around the time the Aichi switched to SP and the anime can't really suddenly change things to deal with a restriction. Relay fights also didn't properly exist until that episode in G so there weren't any rules to follow anyway.
changing accepted definitions of things to suit a personal opinion is just yikes. sets a bad precedent.
why not say no one ever loses in cardfight because friendship is winning in the end and completely ignore facts.
Can't say that because that would mean ignoring what the show is presenting, which is not what I've been suggesting at all, quite the contrary.
To put it simply, while a work of fiction can be based on and reflect reality, the fact that it's fiction, which by definition is not real, means it's allowed to deviate from it and take some liberties which the writer(s) can choose to justify through in-universe logic or not do so and just let suspension of disbelief do its work.
The show has shown before that it's willing to prioritize its own narrative over being faithful to RL. And given that Rive says "Depending on my next turn, I may have lost", this shows that he, and by extension the story, doesn't see this as a loss. Thus, we should not be treating this as a loss for him.
Now if Rive had explicitedly said he forfeited or the show had treated this as a loss for him, this would be a different story and we wouldn't have needed to have this whole discussion in the first place.
Your two examples aren't really the best either. I believe that Barcgal's restriction occurred around the time the Aichi switched to SP and the anime can't really suddenly change things to deal with a restriction. Relay fights also didn't properly existent until that episode in G so there weren't any rules to follow anyway.
Regarding the relay fight exemple, I'll admit you're correct in that it's not the best exemple I could have gone with. Had forgotten that relay fights were introduced after that episode.
Will have to check in regard to Barcgal.
EDIT: Barcgal's restriction in the japanese format was effective starting from Septemper 5th of 2011. Barcgal would not be replaced until the Aichi vs Koutei fight which began with episode 55 which aired January 21 of 2012, so I remembered correctly in that regard.
it doesn't matter what the person thinks or says. walking away from the game when the other person clearly had intended to continue playing is a forfeit.
i didn't think i would ever have to explain why a forfeit is a forfeit. i think ive killed enough brain cells for today.
It's not that I don't understand what the definition forfeit is. I do and I've already said before that I do understand and that it's not the issue here.
If this situation happened IRL, then yes, it would be a forfeit. As said before, no one's denied that. However, the show is in no way obliged to follow reality and can take some liberties in the way it does things. It's nothing unusual in works of fiction.
However, said liberties remain applicable only within the confines of the story. It does NOT effect things outside of itself. Disagreeing with the liberties taken is possible but that doesn't mean they don't exist.
For exemple, a character appear in two different stories called "A" and "B" with the latter being an adaptation of the former. However, the depiction of said character in "B" has been changed from what it was in "A". Regardless of how said changes are received, they still exist within "B" and do change the contents of story "A".
Honestly really tired of repeating myself but the definition of a forfeit is not, and has never been, in question here. The show simply chose not to apply it to the result, or lack thereof, of this fight. That's all there is to it.
Also, should have realized this sooner, but it's not even as though the fight between Rive and Shinemon was a fight at a tournament, so they're allowed to leave the fight without a victor if they want.
I just remembered something about the end of episode 14. When Minami is confronted by Tetsu and Asaka, the latter asks him about who he lost to. This would confirm that Minami had in fact lost to Kai during their fight.
Kai is the one who says that he left before the last damage check and they now are saying that he lost, this would imply that they consider his actions the same as a loss. The only people there were Q4 and Morikawa so Al4 wouldn't even know whether he ran away or not.
Kai never said he never did his last damage check before running off. Plus, Minami's two flunkies were also there, so it's likely they must have reported his loss to Tetsu and Asaka, not to mention how they've never said anything about running away counting as a loss to them.
Kai literally said that asteroid run away when it looks like they are going to lose. If you lose it doesn't look like you are going to lose, you have lost. Yeah, the other two probably told Asaka and Testu what happened.
He's already spilled the beans on Drew's discord if you haven't gotten the details yet
Also shameless plug to join Drew's server if you haven't already,we pretty much turned it into a general disscussion server,so you don't have to participate in tourneys if you don't want you,you can just come and talk about whatever.
I'ma go out to fight a boss in Dissidia 012 (Chaos), and I was wondering if I can summon you tomorrow. I wanted to ask first when you're free so I don't suddenly disturb you without prior permission. Tell me when you're free (in PST, so that I can just check the time there and not have to look for specific time zones).
But if you really can't be free for the next 24 hours, it's okay, I'll just check out Odin. Thanks in advance ^^