Original ZERO

Flash Shield, Iseult

Perfect Guard (かんぜんぼうぎょ Kanzen Bōgyo,かんぜん ガード Kanzen Gādo, also known as "Perfect Defense", "Complete Guard", and "Absolute Guard" (see Trivia) in the anime) is an official term, introduced in Booster Set 1: Descent of the King of Knights, which refers to cards with a special ability to provide complete defense against an attack.

Characteristics

All Perfect Guard units have the following characteristics in common:

  • They have a printed [Shield] Shield icon.png of 0.
  • They have Sentinel, so you may only have up to four in your deck, even if they have different names.

How it Works

When a Perfect Guard unit is placed on (GC), by discarding a card from their hand, the player chooses one of their units that is being attacked, and that chosen unit cannot be hit by the attack until end of the battle, regardless of the [Power] Power icon.png or [Critical] Critical icon.png of the attacking unit.

History

Originally, Perfect Guard units required that the card discarded and unit protected both be of the same clan as the Perfect Guard unit. Starting from Booster Set 16: Legion of Dragons & Blades, new Perfect Guard units no longer have this restriction due to Clan Fight regulations making it irrelevant. However, some Perfect Guard units still have sub-clan restrictions, often due to them having other abilities in addition to Perfect Guard.

Variants

List of Perfect Guard cards

Angel Feather


Aqua Force


Bermuda Triangle


Cray Elemental


Dark Irregulars


Dimension Police


Etranger


Gear Chronicle


Genesis


Gold Paladin


Granblue


Great Nature


Kagero


Link Joker


Megacolony


Murakumo


Narukami


Neo Nectar


Nova Grappler


Nubatama


Oracle Think Tank


Pale Moon


Royal Paladin


Shadow Paladin


Spike Brothers


Tachikaze


The Mask Collection


Touken Ranbu


G guardian Perfect Guards

G Booster Set 14: Divine Dragon Apocrypha introduces G Guardians with similar effect to Perfect Guards. These cards lack Sentinel.

Royal Paladin


Text Errata

Original First Correction (11/05/2012) Second Correction (05/03/2013)
[AUTO]:[Choose a «Clan Name» from your hand, and discard it] When this unit is placed on (GC), you may pay the cost. If you do, your «Clan Name» cannot be hit until end of that battle. [AUTO]:[Choose a «Clan Name» from your hand, and discard it] When this unit is placed on (GC), you may pay the cost. If you do, choose one of your «Clan Name» that is being attacked, and that unit cannot be hit until end of that battle. [CONT]:Sentinel (You may only have up to four cards with "[CONT]:Sentinel" in a deck.)
[AUTO]:[Choose a «Clan Name» from your hand, and discard it] When this unit is placed on (GC), you may pay the cost. If you do, choose one of your «Clan Name» that is being attacked, and that unit cannot be hit until end of that battle.

Trivia


Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.